Wool Sculpture aka Needle Felting

Wool Sculpture aka Needle Felting

Remember the cool texture and specific scent of Play-Doh?  *triggers smell-vision* I always loved 3D molding and making things like clay beads, sand-castles, and K’NEX structures. A few years ago, I fell in love with sculpture in a new way after seeing Kay Petal’s needle felting work: http://www.feltalive.com/

Needle felting is a technique that involves piercing tufts of raw wool hundreds of times using a very sharp needle with tiny barbs. The barbs catch the scales on the wool fibers, causing them to tangle and bind together.  Creating a 3D sculpture can take hours of work and literally thousands of pokes from start to finish. With such sharp objects involved, this is a craft that requires a great deal of attention.

Two years ago, I started an Etsy shop called Hello Lavender to showcase my needle felting creations. Eventually, that project fell to the wayside, but I never stopped collecting wool and supplies and ideas. In the last several months, I decided to put some of those ideas into action and make some wooly stuff! Like all hipsters lately, I’ve been really obsessed with succulents. And so, an wool succulent was born! I’m pleased to announce my sculptures will be featured in the new Amazon Handmade Marketplace! Stay tuned for a link to my storefront.

Check out some of my work:

Lumpy Space Princess from Adventure Time
Ricardio from Adventure Time http://adventuretime.wikia.com/wiki/Ricardio
tiny agave
tiny fruits
my favorite emoji
Leave a Reply

