Are your eyes in your ears?

Are your eyes in your ears?

Lately I’ve been listening. Who doesn’t love a good audio adventure? This is a true story. The first sound I hear every morning before dawn is this bird with the sweetest chirp-coo.  Birdie is there every single morning, chanting the same sweet mantra. The soft chatter and chirps are hardly enough to disturb even the most sensitive ears. It sounds like a super gentle sneaker-on-gym-floor-squeak Morse code.  A big part of me wants to see this bird up close, inspect the nest, see if there are other chickadees.  Like the muse Clio, Birdie is ever elusive, yet reveals its self in the oddest ways. I know the sound of this chirp by heart; it’s the sweetest, most mellifluous thing. But despite my search efforts, I’ve never actually seen Birdie. This bird just wants to be heard! So, I’m listening. I stopped shining a flashlight into the bushes and started to just enjoy the music.

Also impressing my ear-bowls lately…AUDIOBOOKS! My Audible .com Wishlist is out.of.control and this addiction is not waning. So many authors to discover and stories to melt into. Don’t get me wrong, you will stumble upon audiobooks that are frankly unlistenable..poor sound quality, weak performance. But when you find the right story with the right storyteller, it’s magic. I love non-fiction, comedy, classics, mystery, memoirs, anything that boggles the mind. Promise me you will listen to an Audiobook? Turn off Opie and Anthony and tune into some brain food. Got loops in your mind? Enjoy a story. Listen. Find your new voice-crush. You might be blown away. Isn’t it exciting to be unexpectedly blown away? I’ll make you a list of some of my favorites. I hereby give you permission to find an audiobook that moves you. And if you don’t, I’ll narrate one for your listening pleasure!

Blair’s Audiobook Recommendations:

Bossypants by Tina Fey

The Magic of Reality by Richard Dawkins

Undisputed Truth by Mike Tyson

Girl Walks Into a Bar… by Rachel Dratch

A Short History of Nearly Everything by Bill Bryson

Lit: A Memoir by Mary Karr

The Shining by Stephen King

The Bedwetter: Stories of Courage, Redemption and Pee by Sarah Silverman

Orange is the New Black by Piper Kerman

The Most Dangerous Animal of All: Searching for my Father…and Finding the Zodiak Killer by Gary L. Stewart

Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can’t Stop Talking by Susan Cain

 

Please comment if you’ve enjoyed any of the books mentioned above. I’d also love to hear your recommendations!

Leave a Reply

